What did you study?

I studied Translation Studies, specialising in English and Spanish.

What were your previous jobs?

I worked for Yamagata Europe, a technical translation agency, where I gained a great deal of experience as a localisation expert, back-up coordinator and project manager. They also trained me as an internal ISO auditor. When I lived in Peru, I worked as a freelance translator and I set up a micro-brewery.

How did you end up at Blue Lines?

When I returned to Belgium from Peru a few years ago, I started looking for a nice job in Ghent. I had been following Blue Lines for quite some time via LinkedIn and other channels, but it took a while before I dared to apply.

Why did you hesitate to apply for a job at Blue Lines?

I had heard about their extremely challenging translation tests. I was worried I would fail. But I got over it and, what’s more, I passed! So now I can write on my CV that I work for ‘Probably the best translation agency in the world!’

How would you describe your job at Blue Lines?

As a project manager, I oversee translation projects from start to finish. I draw up quotations, prepare the files for translation and select the best translators for the jobs, depending on the subjects and language combinations. I also answer any queries and comments from translators and deliver the reviewed translations to the clients within the set deadlines.

How would you describe Blue Lines?

Blue Lines is an open company with a great atmosphere, where everybody works well together. All project managers can always step into any project, which makes it easier for us to help each other when things get too busy. As an employee, you get pampered too. The best example of some of the great things here is that a few months ago, we switched from a 38-hour to a 35-hour work week. This means I can now spend more time with my family on Wednesday afternoons, which is absolute bliss!

What are your hobbies?

I have many different interests because I like variety. When I was young, I practised gymnastics, skiing and snowboarding. I also played cycle ball, tennis and squash. I don’t practice sports so much anymore. I now get more enjoyment from spending time with my friends and family. Of course, this includes good food and drink.

What is your family situation?

I met my wife Ursula in Peru, when I was very young. I became the father of our son Inti when I was 21 years old and still at college. Four years later, we had our little daughter, Maya. Initially, it was not always easy to study, work and raise children all at the same time, but being such a young father also has many advantages. I have a very close relationship with my family, which I genuinely enjoy.

What has been your most creative outburst?

When I was living in Peru, I missed Belgian beers so much that I decided to brew them myself. It was a long process that required plenty of patience, but eventually, I came up with some recipes that I was very happy with. My beers were so successful with friends and family that my small hobby brewery was transformed into a professional micro-brewery in no time at all. I like to experiment with flavours. For example, I developed a recipe to make tonic with cinchona instead of synthetic quinine. The natural version tastes so much better than the industrial one!

What motivates you?

All translation projects are different, which is what makes this job so appealing. I also find it very satisfying when I manage to meet an almost impossible deadline. Then there are complicated file formats. I enjoy looking for solutions to prepare such files as well as possible so that our translators can concentrate on their texts without having to worry about strange xml or html codes.

What jobs would you never want to do?

Jobs that involve repetitive tasks. I need some variety.

What questions (about your character) should we not ask you?

I am fairly shy and I don’t enjoy being in the limelight. So, please don’t ask me for an interview every year. 😉

Want more tips & tricks?